Posted by: Michelle Olson | July 26, 2012

MinneSteamboat is trending. In Idaho.

The Shore Lodge Marina on Payette Lake boasts mountain views on all sides.

Most everyone I meet learns that I’m from Minnesota two minutes into the conversation. And it’s not because I have a Fargo-like accent, honestly. I was born in Nebraska and live in Arizona, so I’m told it’s biologically impossible to adopt it, though an “eh!” and a “don’tchaknow” seep into my vocabulary every once in a while. But it’s my Minnesota roots, I think, that make me love McCall, Idaho so much. You’re thinking, “That makes sense, how?”  Take a peek at that photo and tell me it doesn’t whisk you away to the Land of 10,000 Lakes. On steroids.

To me, McCall is a beautiful cross between northern Minnesota and my favorite vacation spot in Colorado – Steamboat Springs. A two hour drive along the Payette River from Boise winds travelers through mountains and ranch lands, between lakes, farms and teeny towns with highway store fronts like Tom’s Tackle & Bait. Or Franklin Building Supply. Or my personal favorite: Olson Excavating. You’d think it was my first visit, but I’ve been to McCall several times. I just happen to see, taste, hear and learn something new with each visit. This trip’s theme was country music and huckleberries, not necessarily in that order.

Huckleberries are the official state fruit of Idaho. We’re obsessed, and we’ve blogged about them before. And if you’re
lucky and time your visit just right, you can walk through the forests of Ponderosa State Park (or nearly any other wooded land in the Gem State) and pick and eat them fresh all along the way. The tiny purple berries burst with a sweet/sour goodness that can’t be matched by any other berry. Pick a few dozen on a hike and you’ll next be wandering downtown McCall searching for huckleberry syrup, pancakes, jam, vodka, candy and just about anything boasting the name. Trust me on this. Our first stop in McCall is always to McCall Drug to check out the latest huckleberry concoction. And we’re rarely disappointed. One staff member pouted that we didn’t bring back huckleberry popcorn on this trip. Hey, don’t diss it till you try it.

When I think of Idaho, I don’t readily put country music in the same compartment in my mind. Until now. One of our clients, Whitetail Club, treated its members to the new country sounds of Darius Rucker, formerly the lead singer of Hootie & the Blowfish. In an intimate setting between the driving range and the forest, he pumped out an hour and a half of his heart to a crowd of 200 privileged guests. If they weren’t fans before the concert, they certainly are now. And so am I. His closing song was Purple Rain by my hometown favorite, Prince. And he carried it off well, saying it was the song that made him want to sing in a band. And so we come full circle. I’m still a proud Minnesotan, living in the desert, looking for that water-filled paradise in the West. I think I’ve found it. It’s called McCall, Idaho.


Leave a comment

Categories